Sales Tip #1:Be Easy On Yourself!

The last 4-5 days have revealed HUGE lessons to me that apply not only to sales, but to pursuing success with anything in life.

In the world of personal development, we are taught over and over to take responsibility for the results in our lives. To always assume that the results in our lives are the fruit of some action we have taken, or even mere thoughts we have entertained.

And I think it’s great.

After all, if we don’t take responsibility for our results, how will we ever feel motivated to take the right actions to change our lives for the better? If the “results” are out of our control, then why should we even try?

Taking responsibility for your lfie is a good thing. But sometimes we can actually take TOO much responsibility. It can get to the point where we actually start beating ourselves up for negative results that are caused by environment and have NOTHING to do with us.

Last week, my job as a salesman took a very frightening and literally depressing turn. 

I suddenly found myself knocking on hundreds of doors and making dozens of contacts, yet going home with ZERO sales. Not only was I working hard for hours and seeing NO reward, the majority of the people I met were reacting negatively…treating me like a mix between a pest and a deceiver.

I feel kinda weird saying this as a guy, but it really messed me up emotionally.

Early last week my supervisor joined me for a couple of hours in the field, knocking on doors and selling alongside me. He has more than 15 years experience at door-to-door selling and, according to the sales manager, was perhaps the best salesmen who ever worked for our company. He came at my request to examine my technique and give me feedback on how to improve.

Can you imagine the relieved feeling that swept over me at the end of the day when he looked me in the eyes and said, “Dude, the problem isn’t you…the problem is the neighborhood where you’re working…I’m 100% sure of that now. Relax! Let’s get you in a new area.”

The next day, I left that neighborhood and launched into a new one on the other side of town. Immediately, I was back to my usual consistent 6 to 12 point days and making great money again. Amazing!

And I didn’t change a thing in my pitch the whole time.

Lesson learned: Taking responsibility is great. But be careful not to take so much responsibility that you forget to consider factors OUTSIDE of yourself!

If you take too much responsibility for things outside yourself, you can suffer unnecessarily and damage your confidence in yourself. And THAT actually does hold the power to diminish your abilities as a salesman!

Having a great week? Good. Press on. Having a bad week? Good. Press on. It’s a numbers game and the law of averages is everything.

Last of all…relax. You aren’t that powerful. 😉 Just play the game the best you can. You can’t help but win.

~ by doortodoorsalesman on November 3, 2009.

Leave a comment